top of page

Ascenseur pour l'échafaud


http://8tracks.com/s-t-l-r/ascenseur-pour-l-echafaud

"I love humor, I love to laugh, I love jokes, I love silliness, I love that, I think it's great, I think laughter is worth a whole lot of medicine."

Michel Petrucciani

A mix featuring music by Miles Davis including 'Nuit sur les Champs-élysées' a track from the soundtrack for 'Ascenseur pour l'échafaud', Louis Malle's film from 1958 starring Jeanne Moreau.

The soundtrack was created by Miles providing his sidemen with a few harmonic sequences which were improvised around. The sounds on this soundtrack were the precursors to Kind of Blue and Milestones. The mix also features another great piece from Miles, "'Round Midnight".

Other tracks in this mix include 'Almost Blue' by Chet Baker and 'The Shadow of Your Smile' by Herb Alpert. Alpert is the A in A & M Records and is also an expressionist painter.

The mix also contains Michel Petrucciani's version of Besame Mucho. Despite having a brittle bone disease which caused him a great deal of pain Petrucciani kept a positive demeanour:

"I love humor, I love to laugh, I love jokes, I love silliness, I love that, I think it's great, I think laughter is worth a whole lot of medicine."


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page